What IS a Wonderful Life?

“Life doesn’t have to be perfect to be wonderful.” 

I’m not sure who that quote is from but I bought it in the form of a large printed board that hangs on the wall. I thought…”I need to hear that sometimes when my attitude slips.”  I also thought I need to hear that as a dose of reality when I have the wrong expectations of people or situations. I need to remember to enjoy life as it comes, and not strain to perfect every minuet detail. Life is wonderful, sometimes I just need to look for it. So I happily strolled away with my purchase. But…

photo-38

As I drove around with it in my car, I realized it has a negative side too. I realized it is also “not-not thinking” and an excuse. An excuse to never try to make things better, or check in with God. It might suggest to just take the drama, the turmoil, and the “lemons” when that’s not at all what God expects or asks of us. This thinking keeps us from setting boundaries with the wrong kind of people. Let me show you what I mean.

For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.” Philippians 2:13

Our standard and attitude should be what the Word says. When we apply a standard answer or “attitude” about life, we limit God’s working in us for his pleasure.

Here’s an example.

A friend comes along and says something horrible about you to your husband and a stranger she has never met before. It’s not unlike her to be opinionated about…well in her case most everything. But you are devastated by her words, tactics and manipulation. The sting of the fiery dart smolders in your veins. You have a decision to make. Do you take the punch to the gut and forget about it? Do you give it right back? Or do you walk in love?

Lets say you then walk into the bathroom and see that saying, “Life doesn’t have to be perfect to be wonderful“, hanging there. You emotionally decide, yeah, I just need to calm down and take this one for the team. Life isn’t always perfect but there are a lot of other things that are wonderful. Later, you think again about the dart, it works its way down into your subconscious undermining and eating away at your confidence. Your not sure of yourself, shaky and weak. You don’t know why but for some reason, even weepy. Your attitude slips and you start complaining about life all because something way down inside hurts but you don’t know why.

Let me ask you this:

  1. Did you, in the moment, ask God what He would do? No, you were manipulated by a worldly idea.
  2. Did God want you to be hurt, confused and punished over and over just for being nice to this woman? NO, you decided on your own to allow her to continue being in your life.
  3. When God would have had you stand up for yourself, you rolled over and did not walk in love towards yourself or set a very needed boundary with that friend who now thinks they can get away with saying anything about you behind your back.

Let’s read some more of Philippians 2.

For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.

Do all things without murmurings and disputings: That ye may be blameless and harmless, the sons of God, without rebuke, in the midst of a crooked and perverse nation, among whom ye shine as lights in the world; Holding forth the word of life; that I may rejoice in the day of Christ, that I have not run in vain, neither laboured in vain. Yea, and if I be offered upon the sacrifice and service of your faith, I joy, and rejoice with you all. For the same cause also do ye joy, and rejoice with me.” vs. 14-18

It is not our job to appease, please, and make peace with every person that comes along. It IS our job to hold forth the Word of Life. When we conclude that a worldly idea seems “just right” for us, we limit the flexibility of God doing a great work in their life and possibly saving us from serious heartache and deterioration in our believing.

I realize this is a bit more of an advanced topic but, when it comes to the heart, God knows exactly what we need and how to keep us safe. He never wastes our time or manipulates us. He LOVES, so we should love. Love, agape love, has teeth too. Life IS truly wonderful when we trust and obey because we know God has our back, even if by the five senses something doesn’t fit.

Last week, we talked about truth intersections. I came to two of them that I’m aware of in the last two days. God gives us millions of chances, but the Devil and this world are continually trying to talk you out of what is truly wonderful about life; which is the abundant life and the Word of Life.

What does this boil down to? (This would make a great poster)

Just do the Word and let God sort out all the rest. 

I love you!

God bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

