Bastazō! Why Am I shouting in Greek? Well, Let me tell you…

Bastazō is a word, in Greek, that means, to bear, to carry, to support or to sustain. Why would I shout this at you? Because that is the word of the day for me.

 

First let me tell you where I found it.

“Bear ye one another’s burdens, and so fulfil the law of Christ.” Galatians 6:2

Oh how I sometimes long to give all these burdens to someone else. The other day I was day dreaming about not having PMS anymore. Ah, it would be a relief to see menopause. I’m sure all you girls who have had menapause are scoffing at me right now. Ha!

Or, how about taxes? Don’t you wish you could just hand all your taxes to someone and say, “Here please do these, because it’s a biblical request.”

My CPA would be laughing at me then. He also sends me a nice bill for my burden-lifting-charade. Isn’t that the way it goes. Every burden you unload on someone costs you a small price. Sometimes…not so small of a price.

So why am I shouting bastazō??

Because I found it somewhere else too and it was alongside another amazing word.

“14 And when Jesus was come into Peter’s house, he saw his wife’s mother laid, and sick of a fever. 15 And he touched her hand, and the fever left her: and she arose, and ministered unto them. 16 When the even was come, they brought unto him many that were possessed with devils: and he cast out the spirits with [his] word, and healed all that were sick: 17 That it might be fulfilled which was spoken by Esaias the prophet, saying, Himself took our infirmities, and bare [our] sicknesses. ” Matthew 8:14-17

This was Jesus Christ’s day, after a long day of hard work, as we see in verse sixteen. When I think of giving some one my burdens, I usually think of me unloading on them, and they– unwillingly– receive them. But it says here, Jesus took our infirmities and he bore them. “Bare” is our Greek word bastazō, but for a moment, I’d like you to look at the word “took”, which is an even more amazing word in Greek, lambanō.

Lambanō is the word meaning; to receive, to take with the hand, lay hold of, any person or thing in order to use it. If someone gave me a car, I would happily use it. Lambano is to receive something and then do something useful with it.

What could that mean? Jesus Christ took, he “lambano’ed” our infirmities. He “bastazō’d” our sicknesses. He took them. But what did he do with them? For that answer we must look up where it says the prophet Esaias is quoted here in Matthew. What does Isaiah, or Esaias say about Jesus Christ?

Isaiah 53:4-5
“4 Surely he hath borne our griefs, and carried our sorrows: yet we did esteem him stricken, smitten of God, and afflicted. 5 But he [was] wounded for our transgressions, [he was] bruised for our iniquities: the chastisement of our peace [was] upon him; and with his stripes we are healed.”

6B51EAE5E6EB46CA91B74E0E33E9036C@DBFPTR51

With those stripes, we are healed! Jesus Christ took, he lambano’d, our infirmities, he took them for a reason and He paid the price of the burden. Why would he do that? So he could heal them! He bore, he bastazo’d, our sicknesses but not for LONG! Why do we live so far below par in our believing? When are we going to rise up and claim the truth of God’s Word in our lives? How long will we let the worry, sin, sickness, doubt and trouble of this world hold sway in our day and in our lives? We must take a stand for truth. If Jesus Christ already took those infirmities then WHY ARE WE STILL ClINGING TO THEM? We must rise up and shout in victory today. We must claim the truth of verse 17 of Isaiah 54,

“No weapon formed against thee shall prosper; and every tongue that shall rise against thee in judgement thou shalt condemn. This the heritage of the servants of the Lord and their righteousness is of me, saith the Lord. “

By His stripes you are healed! I claim that for you today in the powerful name of Jesus Christ.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

