1 Key to Daily Success

Do you feel like you’re dangling from a cliff of insecurities, doubt and exhaustion?

cliff courage-001

I have too recently. You who have read here for the last three years know that I dive into the thick of the Word of God all the time. I think it’s fun, amazing and freeing. But this last month, I’ve been distracted by work, our business and well… life. Every little routine is in flux mode and I’ve had a heck of a time settling back into a new blogging schedule. As a result, I’ve blogged less and I’ve dug into the Word less.  Blogging here at SGW is my personal protein, my mental workout, and my spiritual perspective for the day, I’ve lagged. I feel like I’m hanging from that cliff some days. I feel beat up and exhausted all the time. Then I ran across this verse today.

“Take heed unto thyself, and unto the doctrine; continue in the them; for in doing this thou shalt both save thyself, and them that hear thee.” 1 Timothy 4:16

I followed the word, “saved” in the sidebar note of my Scofield KJV study Bible back to Romans. Here’s what the  study note said.

“The Hebrew and Greek words for salvation imply the ideas of deliverance, safety, preservation, healing and soundness. Salvation is the great inclusive word of the Gospel, gather into itself all the redemptive acts and processes: as justification, redemption, grace, propitiation, imputation, forgiveness, sanctification, and glorification. Salvation is in three tenses: (1) The believer has been saved from the guilt and penalty of sin” (then he lists the references there); “(2) The believer is being saved from the habit and dominion of sin” (then he lists a lot more reference verses); “(3) The believer is to be saved in the sense of entire conformity to Christ.” (more references) “Salvation is by grace through faith, is a free gift, and wholly without works. The divine ord is: first salvation, then works.” 

I’ve always thought of salvation as a gift and free, so when I saw the phrase “take heed”, it stopped me. Here are the scripture references from the note above from #2.

Romans 6:14; “For the sin shall not have dominion over you: for ye are not under the law, but under grace. God forbid.”

Philippians 1:19; “For I know that this shall turn to my salvation through your prayer, and the supply of the Spirit of Jesus Christ.”

Philippians: 2:12-13; “Wherefore, my beloved, as ye have always obeyed, not as in my presence only, but now much more in my absence, work out your own salvation with fear and trembling. For it is God which worketh in you both to will and to do of his good pleasure.”

2 Thessalonians 2:13; “But we are bound to give thanks alway to God for you, brethren beloved of the Lord, because God hath from the beginning chosen you to salvation through sanctification of the Spirit and belief of the truth.”

I know there are more verses that point to the believers responsibility in his/her own salvation but these were the ones listed in the note under #2 The believer is being saved from the habit and dominion of sin. The dominion and habit of sin caught me short. After we are saved, or made whole by believing God raised Jesus Christ from the dead, we still must fight our old habit patterns of thinking and dominion of sin in our lives. Renewing our mind is not a one time event. These verse clearly prove that we have to work at it over and over and over.

Then I went back to our main verse today, 1 Timothy 4:16; “Take heed unto thyself.” That word heed is the Greek word “epechō” which means, to have or hold upon, to hold forth, to watch out for or guard against. To check, delay, stop or stay. Look at some of the places I found just this one word.

Acts 3:4-5; “And Peter, fastening his eyes upon him with John, said, Look on us. And he gave heed unto them, expecting to receive something of them.”

Philippians 2:16; “Holding forth the word of life; that I may rejoice in the day of Christ, that I have not run in vain, neither laboured in vain.”

The bolded words are our word epecho. We take heed to the Word, we expect to receive something from the Word, WE hold forth the Word in our own lives every day. And what do we receive by doing this? Salvation, the wholeness of our walk with God. Sin is a habit, it wants to dominate our lives and infiltrate our lives. It sneaks in when we give it the smallest inch. It is so easy to wander away from the life-giving and power-filled diet of God’s daily Word.

All of this studying brought me to one melted down conclusion one Key to daily success.

Let the WORD of Life become your life every day.

One cannot expect a power-filled, results oriented, rightly divided walk with God without daily digestion of rightly divided, power-filled, nuggets of the Word of God. It is our nutrition. The definition of the renewed mind is putting the Word of God in mind and acting accordingly. And then we just never give up. Why?

“For bodily exercise profiteth little: but godliness is profitable unto all things, having promise of the life that now is, and that which is to come.” 1 Timothy 4:8

We exercise and feed our physical bodies everyday, how much more important is our spiritual body when we’ll have IT for eternity.

God Bless You today!

 

Leave a Reply

