Is Your Life Still “Under Construction”?

foundation construction

Do you ever feel like you should have “been there by now”?

What I mean is, as an adult with children you are the one they turn to. At work, you’re the one they call for the answers. And with your friends, they are the one who call you for prayers. Your life seems like it’s going somewhere important, but inside you feel like your wandering aimlessly. That’s when you go to church or talk to a well-meaning christian friend and they say something like this…

“You just need to find out what God’s Will is for your life.”

Oh how many times I’ve heard those words! They seep like seeds of doubt and confusion into an already disturbed mind. They used to frustrate me beyond the point of sanity. I would’ve loved to “KNOW” God’s Will for my life, but most sermons point out what not to do with my life. Then I would sit smugly thinking, of course I don’t do those things. But what should I be doing?

Then, a few years ago, during one my over-dramatized fits of complaining to my husband, he stated something very simple to me. It revolutionized my life.

“In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18

There it was in black and white. Why would God want to us to give thanks? Well… it’s like the banjo. It is impossible for the banjo to play the blues. In the same regard, it is impossible for the thankful man to make selfish demands. Thankfulness requires humility. Gratitude requires your recognition that you alone could not be the ONE with all the answers, you must depend on someone bigger, more knowledgeable and more powerful. There is not one other emotion or expression like thankfulness on the earth. It alone stands at the entrance of self-disregard, honesty, and humility. That’s why thankfulness gets the results it gets. But I love this verse, it says “IN everything give thanks” not FOR everything give thanks. Those are two very different words. They point out that there is reason for thanks in the midst of the struggle, but we don’t have to be thankful for the struggle itself.

Someone was heard saying this,

“The times I have been hurt in the ministry can’t compare to the thousands of times I would have been hurt had I been in the world and not the Word.”

I too can’t imagine living without the safety net of God’s hedge of blessing and protection in my life. That alone is worth a million prayers of thankfulness. How many times has God enacted His divine power on your behalf here on earth to help you avoid tragedy, much less for your benefit and blessing? It’s impossible to comprehend! All we can do is be thankful. Be thankful and be thankful!

Sometime during this revelation my whole attitude shifted from fear of those possible tragedies to thankfulness. Once that happened, I began seeing how real it was that I was saved and alive and BLESSED! Then I realized that God is good always and HE always wants and works toward that for me. I started looking at each new opportunity with GLEE and excitement! WHAT WOULD GOD DO NEXT?!? Obstacles come up, but to me they are exciting opportunities to believe GOD! WHOA!

What a difference in my attitude!

Think of your life as a dropping of a pebble in a pond. The prayer of one person with believing affects the whole world, because you will sink to the depths or rise to the heights of our believing. The bolder your believing the higher your success.

What is my POTENTIAL with this kind of believing?

“Delight thyself also in the Lord; and He shall give they the desires of thine heart. Commit thy way unto the Lord; trust also in him; and he shall bring it to pass.” Psalms 37: 4-5

“The steps of a good man are orderd by the Lord; and he delighteth in his way. Though he fall, he shall not be utterly cast down; for the Lord upholdeth him with his hand. I have been young, and now am old; yet have I not seen the righteous forsaken, nor his seed begging bread. He is ever merciful, and lendeth; and his seed is blessed…” Psalms 37:23-26

“Behold, I am the LORD, the God of all flesh: is there any thing too hard for me?” Jeremiah 32:27

“O taste and see that the LORD is good: blessed is the man that trusteth in him.” Psalms 34:8

Now unto him that is able to do exceeding abundantly above all that we ask or think, according to the power that worketh in us,” Ephesians 3:20

EXCeeding, abundantly above??? IS there such a thing? OH YES! With God there is. Everyday! Our believing raises us to this level because these are promises. What is a check but a promissory note that money is in the bank? God’s promises are worth ten times that much surety. So when you go about in your day, be thankful. Speak in tongues because by doing that you give thanks well. Believe these promises and watch God pull off the AMAZING in your life.

Your life may feel like it’s under construction, but keep in mind if you make the Word of God your foundation, it’s big deep and strong. Any big foundation I’ve ever seen has held a building of vast size and height. Let God keep building you up too and watch how scraping the sky is just the beginning.

Worlds Largest concrete pour.
Worlds Largest concrete pour.

God bless you today.

Leave a Reply

