Hold Fast and Never Waver on…

…what you are in Christ Jesus.

Freedom is not determined by where you are, but by Who and What you are in Christ Jesus.

“Stand fast therefore in the liberty wherewith Christ hath made us free, and be not entangled again with the yoke of bondage.” Galatians 5:1

While we were traveling this last week, Bill and I met and experienced all kinds of people. Mostly from the hospitality industry because we stayed at a hotel, but occasionally we snuck out for a taste of life in Canada from the people living there. I think I was the most surprised to see that it was very similar to our life in the US. I had never been to Canada before. I wondered if I’d feel a culture shock, but as we stood in line at the airport the latest Maroon 5 songs could be heard over the airways and hundreds of people wearing similar clothes as I had on brushed past me, I saw a similarity. When we rode through town we saw all the same stores, Wal-Mart, Target, and McDonald’s, that you would see here. We spoke with a bilingual taxi driver from Pakistan and asked the first questions we could on Canadian soil. What brought you to this country? All of these fascinating people answered with similar things, work, or family.

640px-Toronto_-_ON_-_Toronto_Harbourfront7

CN Tower, Toronto Canada

So What makes Me Different from all of Them to God?

It was 5:35 pm Toronto time as I stood looking out the hotel window at a city that would be my new home for the next week. Traffic sped off the interstate into our industrial section of town at break neck speeds. The sky is a ruddy mixture of grey/blue and the trees are in their last flush of vivid green. Toronto’s CN Tower, a 1,815.4 ft high cement spindle, stands above the city surveying all the 2.5 million people in what many travel magazines called the most “livable city” in America. I waver in awe. How could God know every heart? And how could each heart be different from the billions of other similar people out there? There is the moment when I, a small town girl, stagger in the mouth of the vacuum of the world’s gargantuan immensity. How could God keep track of little ol’ me in the sea of sameness?

“Are not five sparrows sold for two farthings, and not one of them is forgotten before God? But even the very hairs of your head are all numbered. Fear not therefore: ye are of more value than many sparrows.” Luke 12:6-7

I am humbled. He didn’t just keep track of me and you. He knows us. He raised us up together to sit in heavenly places with Christ Jesus. We are His.

“Nevertheless the foundation of God standeth sure, having this seal, The Lord knoweth them that are His… ” 2 Timothy 2:19a

What makes me different from all the others? What makes me unique among the waves of similarities from around the world?

I am different because of my spiritual stand with God. I am different because I never waver. I hold on tight to the unique access I have to my Father in this day and time.

God broke down the middle wall of partition because He wanted us reconciled, He called us out from among the tides of humanity.

“Who hath saved us, and called us with an holy calling, not according to our works, but according to his own purpose and grace, which was given us in Christ Jesus before the world began.” 2 Timothy 1:9

Why??

Why would God do that? Because God designed a special purpose for each and everyone of His children. He gave us access to Him so He could tell us what that purpose is.

“For we are His workmanship, created in Christ Jesus unto good works, which God hath before ordained that we should walk in them.” Ephesians 2:10

What you are in Christ is unique because it’s a mix of your personality, your experiences, your skills and unique insights mixed with the power and force greater than nature itself, called the Will of God. What could your potential for greatness be with God as you walk on this earth?

As High, as Great and as unique as your Walk with Him Could be!

Be the difference you want to see in the world around you today! Let your eyes focus on the Hope of His Calling in Christ, because in it lies all the differences that the world has never seen.

 

God Bless you today!

Leave a Reply

