Have I Learned How to Be a “Great” Human Yet?

When we were little kids, our parents, grandparents and teachers spent most of their time telling us to have good manners, treat people well, and play nice. Kids have to be reminded a lot! I’m sure my mom wondered if I was ever going to “get it”. Of course, now, all her hard work paid off and I’m an independent prospering member of my community. But am I really a “great” human? Or am I, like the rest of us, still evolving and need a little guidance?

IMG_3890

Here are a 3 questions to ask ourselves.

1)  “Great” Humans start…

…as good humans who have hearts that open and minds that ask.

Ask, “Do I allow God to teach me and I mean really teach me?”

“Wisdom is the principal thing; therefore get wisdom: and with all thy getting, get understanding.” Proverbs 4:7

 They say, it’s after you think you know it all that you begin to learn. Do you like to learn only things that pertain to you? Or is learning itself a source of joy?

“According as His divine power hath given unto us all things that pertain unto life and godliness, through the knowledge of Him that hath called us to glory and virtue. Whereby are given unto us exceeding great and precious promises: that by these ye might be partakers of the divine nature, having escaped the corruption that is in the world through lust” 2 Peter 1:3-4

If the Word of God contains all things that pertain to life and godliness, why then do we think WE know it all? One must be as willing to unlearn as they are to learn. Sometimes our learning has included learning some errors. Christopher Columbus set out to prove there were errors in the way he was taught. I must ask myself, am I willing to go that far and truly learn? Life is just another name for “God’s Classroom” but we have to choose to be great students. And He has a customized curriculum just for you

2) All the greatest men and women in history…

…had a heart of service. And the one man who split time in half and brought hope to the world served God with all his life. In fact, as soon as Jesus Christ was raised from the dead he began witnessing. How does that serving compute? Even after being murdered, Jesus served people.

Ask this question, “God first, others second, am I willing to be third?”

“If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honor.” John 12:26

“No man can serve two masters: for either he will hate the one, and love the other; or else he will hold to the one, and despise the other. Ye cannot serve God and mammon (self).”  Matthew 6:24

You are totally responsible for what you do with what God gave you. The great thing about God is, when you give, He gives back. You give again, and He gives back. You can never out-give God. It becomes a joy-fest of giving and serving. The excitement grows as the learning grows.

3) All the great humans…

…allowed LOVE to direct their actions, not fear. God doesn’t love on account of; He loves in spite of. Can we do that? Can we love that big?

Ask this questions…”Do I have the courage to take the barbed wire down from around my heart and simply love?”

Without love there is no joy in living.

“And above all these things put on charity (love/agape), which is the bond of perfectness.And let the peace of God rule in your hearts, to the which also ye are called in one body; and be ye thankful.” Colossians 3:14-15

We can never afford not to love each other.

 Great humans learn, serve, and love as much as they know how. So today, make someone’s day. Learn something new about them, love them with the love of God by tenderly reaching out and serving them.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

