Can We Really Go “Off-the-Grid” with God These Days?

Wow! What a meeting!

Last night I sat around the table with women whose hearts were enlarged by God’s kindness and love. I fed off that love in my teaching of God’s Word. Thank you so much to those of you who could make it! I wanted to extend the invite out to those of you who might want to come visit our little Bible Study meetings. They start every Wednesday night at 6 PM MST and we try to be done by 7:30 or 8 PM. I think what amazes me is that we all have kids, we all have busy schedules and we all have priorities in our lives, but we find time for this meeting. I know why I do it, and why Wednesdays have quickly become my favorite day of the week. It’s because of them! And it’s because I need to go “off-the-grid” with God.

Have you ever heard that term? My sister talked about it in one of her teachings, she said it’s about finding your solace and your special time/place with God. I get that! Wow, do I so get and love that! It’s a time when you can get away from all the doubters, the worriers and the people who don’t profit your life. It’s a time when no one is needing fed, wiped, calmed, soothed, burped or bathed. It’s a time when you have your needs taken care of.

There is an old hymnal about going off grid with God, it goes like this.

My God And I

My God and I go in the fields together;

We walk and talk as good friends should and do.

We clasp our hands, our voices ring with laughter,

My God and I walk through the meadow’s hue.

He tells me of the years that went before me,

When heavenly plans were made for me to be;

When all was but a dream of dim conception

To come to life, earth’s verdant glory see.

My God and I will go for aye together

We’ll walk and talk as good friends should and do.

This earth will pass and with it common trifles

But God and I will go unendingly.

It’s such a sweet song and I wish I could sing it to you. Below is a YouTube video I found of some far more talented singers than I singing it. Enjoy!

//www.youtube-nocookie.com/embed/v6z_skubH_8?rel=0

It me of that verse in Psalms 118: 14…”The Lord is my strength and song, and is become my salvation.” Sometimes all we need is a song to refresh us, but some times we need a whole lot more.

For you who would like to attend our little band of rebels, meet us in the Sherwood forest (aka EXIT Realty Yellowstone, Billings Montana) at 6 pm on Wednesdays. We’re going to take back from the Devil what he thought was his. Our solace, and our peace.

God Bless You all!

Leave a Reply

