What Are You Waiting To Be?

Have you ever heard of the “Be, Do, Have” philosophy?

Winning the race-001 Be, Do, Have is an incredible truth but most of us get it backwards. We think that once we have a million dollars, or a college degree, or extra time, then we’ll do something important with it and then we’ll be a great person. I heard the principle in a leadership seminar last week and here’s something I’ve noticed. All the best principles come from the Word of God and they are provable in our own lives. But Where is it in the Word? And what is this thing? Instead of having it mixed up and backwards, we need to turn it and our priorities around. We first work on who we are on the inside to be a great person, then we’ll do something great with ourselves, and then we’ll have whatever we need. Here in Mark there’s example of someone getting this mixed around.

“And when he was gone forth into the way, there came one running, and kneeled to him, and asked him, Good Master, what shall I do that I may inherit eternal life?

And Jesus said unto him, Why callest thou me good? [there is] none good but one, [that is], God.

Thou knowest the commandments, Do not commit adultery, Do not kill, Do not steal, Do not bear false witness, Defraud not, Honour thy father and mother.

And he answered and said unto him, Master, all these have I observed from my youth.

Then Jesus beholding him loved him, (the word “loved” is the Greek word “agapaō”, which means “the love of God in the renewed mind in manifestation”) and said unto him, One thing thou lackest: go thy way, sell whatsoever thou hast, and give to the poor, and thou shalt have treasure in heaven: and come, take up the cross, and follow me.

And he was sad at that saying, and went away grieved: for he had great possessions.

And Jesus looked round about, and saith unto his disciples, How hardly shall they that have riches enter into the kingdom of God!  And the disciples were astonished at his words. But Jesus answereth again, and saith unto them, Children, how hard is it for them that trust in riches to enter into the kingdom of God!” Mark 10-17-24

 

This section is so fascinating! Here Jesus beholds and walks in love/agapaō towards this man, and you know he asks God what to say. All of the money the man had earned on his own, and had gathered it around him of his own might. They were now standing in his way of even greater riches because he’d learned to depend on THEM not God. His priorities were mixed up. This story shows how hard it is to trust in God after years of trusting in what someone has or on himself.

I used to think that if I had a degree at a noteworthy college then I would really succeed.

When I broke down that motive in my heart; by going to God and asking Him, I realized that I wanted the degree so people would respect me more. I had decided that once I had a degree then I’d really serve God, I’d really do something special for Him. He reminded me that if I just worked on my walk with Him He would lead me into that great service. He would lead me into speaking the right word and the right time to the right person. In that, I could affect vast ripples of change throughout the world. Wow! But I, like that rich man, had to trust God to get me there. Not the college degree, not money, not a business. God. What a perspective change huh? Here is the verse where Gods’ asks us to “Be, Do, and then Have”.

“Trust in the LORD with all thine heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding. In all thy ways acknowledge him, and he shall direct thy paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

We decided to trust and lean not on our own understanding and acknowledge him, then He shall direct our paths. Verse 13 of the same chapter says…

“Happy is the man that findeth wisdom, and the man that getteth understanding. For the merchandise of it is better than the merchandise of silver, and the gain thereof than fine gold. She is more precious than rubies: and all the things thou canst desire are not to be compared unto her. Length of days is in her right hand; and in her left hand riches and honour.” 13-16

Look at all that you reap in reward just by finding wisdom from God? Wow! And this verse goes on and on but I think you get my point. Be God’s best today! You only have now to ask, “God if you were me what would you do?”. Then DO it. Do your best. The deliverance comes in the doing of the Word, not in the hearing only. Your “haves” are your path filled with wisdom, directed by the One who knows everything that will ever be profitable to you. Use your NOW to BE the best you can possibly be.   God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

