A Strong Argument vs. A Strong Relationship

There was nothing more important to me, when I was a young Christian, than to prove my point and win every argument. Now, as I have gained a few well-covered gray hairs, I realize that “a” relationship is more important than “a” notch on my Bible. People don’t care what I know until they know that I care. You and I have the distinct and rare joy of fellow-shipping around the richness of the Word of God together. It is an addiction for me, and a constant learning process. I love it! It reminds me of that verse in Psalms.

“Blessed is the man that walketh not in the counsel of the ungodly, nor standeth in the way of sinners, nor sitteth in the seat of the scornful. But his delight is in the law of the LORD; and in his law doth he meditate day and night. And he shall be like a tree planted by the rivers of water, that bringeth forth his fruit in his season; his leaf also shall not wither; and whatsoever he doeth shall prosper.” Psalms 1:1-3

Together we revel here along in this bubbling burbling water enjoying every mouthful and scenic sunset in the land of God’s treasured abundance. Dangers pass by us, leaving us unharmed. We grow every year taller, more expansive and wide. Our roots break through rock and hard earth miles below the surface and we live a grace-filled life. But this is not how it has always been. I remember the time I’d fight for every scrap of revelation. I’d over think every possible sign from God not knowing He was big enough to just tell me Himself. I remember fearing for my life, and moments so dark I didn’t think I’d come out of it alive. I fought for every ounce of understanding from God that I gained. You could call me a scrapper for the Lord. In actuality, I was half-starved spiritual transient searching for something that made sense. If someone came to me with their logic, I would fight every angle, poke holes in their theory, and rip their believing to shreds. I was not a fun audience. I’ve been removed from Sunday school classes for asking too many questions, and walked out of sermons when no one was allowed to leave. Even as a feisty teenager, I required proof. Especially then. What I really wanted was Love. God’s love. Agape is the most powerful weapon known to the universe. No other weapon formed against it will prosper. It’s really all I ever needed. If, now… NOW that I have my hard evidence and plenty of love, if now I expected any less from my feisty audience, I would be a fool. If I jumped back in the ring and thrashed around beating up their believing and pulling out their confidence in God I would be just like the Pharisees. The Pharisees tried to rip Jesus Christ’s faith to shreds, yet he continued to walk in love towards them. Sometimes agape has teeth too, but 95% of the time it walks in when the world walks out. Think of all the miracles he did. So often they were given to spiritually starved paupers, desperate for any attempt to save them. Lazarus was DEAD! How desperate was that situation? Yet the Pharisees continued to plot, to cajole, to steal the seeds of the Word of God from Jesus Christ’s ministry and life. They tried to chop down his mighty oak planted by the rivers of water and prospering in His way and time.

“The ungodly are not so: but are like the chaff which the wind driveth away.Therefore the ungodly shall not stand in the judgment, nor sinners in the congregation of the righteous. For the LORD knoweth the way of the righteous: but the way of the ungodly shall perish.” vs. 4-6

I guess I just have one question. Are you trying to win every argument? Or are you loving people like God wants to love them. Nothing in your life will be more fulfilling then when you give. Nothing will transform and grow you like planting yourself in the Word and winning those relationships for God. Agape love is not an emotional human love like the other loves are. It is God’s love. God is spirit. We must make a freewill decision to ask for guidance when loving like God loves. The answers come from above, they are outside our limited 5-senses understanding and will not, often times, make rational sense to us. But over and over, when I have loved this way, somewhere another spiritual scrapper puts down their boxing gloves for a time. River Glimmer Start with yourself. Ask God, “God if you were me, what would you do today to bless ME?” Then go to your loved ones and sphere of influence. Ask that question about every person you come in contact with. Practice, practice, practice. All your really doing is putting down deep roots on the edge of the river of LIFE. God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

