I Hate to be the One to Tell You But…

Our society can’t tell the difference between light and darkness.

They can’t tell the difference between truth and error.

I know this because, this last week, I used myself as a human test subject. Here’s what I found out.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

They say that a culture’s thoughts and heart are revealed by its media, art, music. I figured I was as good a test subject as any. I have a strong renewed mind, I’m disciplined to read the Bible and I’m convinced or persuaded about what God has in there. So I started by soaking up the Top 50 Pop and Country tunes. (And immediately noticed a common theme. Brokenness, death and theft.) I stopped reading everyday in the Word and tried to stop thinking about God. (Dangerous experiment…I know)

Here’s what happened. Every step away from the Word, was a step out of the light and into the dark world around me. Confusion resides out there. Neglect is the king of our culture including hopelessness and even physical pain. Yesterday, at the END of my experiment, I was told that many thousands of dollars was removed from my bank account without my permission. Confusion, anger and physical pain hit me in waves. Literally, I had chest pangs and a migraine. I went reeling out of control in my mind. Who had the permission to do that? Who would be allowed? How could they have stolen thousands of dollars, well let’s be honest, there wouldn’t have been that much for them to take. But still what the $*#! Within seconds, my heart rate climbed and my blood pressure was in the stratosphere.

“Thy Word is a lamp unto my feet, and a light unto my path.” Psalms 119:105

Okay, back to my experiment.

How could the little ‘ol Bible have helped me here?

How would this seemingly antiquated book have been a practical means of literally keeping me safe?

“Trust in the Lord with all then heart; and lean not unto thine own understanding; in all thy ways acknowledge Him and He shall direct thy paths.” Proverbs 3:5-6

I would’ve stopped and asked God first if this was something I needed to worry about. Right? Ha!  If I had, He would have said something like…”It was a typo, and a misunderstanding both, on the party involved. Stay calm and just take care of it.”

Instead of FrEaKinG out. I could have had peace. So here’s what I realized. I was standing just outside the light of God’s Word and I wasn’t asking God what to do in situations that come up, as a result my “Truth-o-meter” was disabled. I couldn’t tell what was true and what was error.

Have you ever had a big stinky pail of muddy compost and dirt in your possession? One that was too big for you to just dump out and refill. How would you clean it up? You’d have to begin the process of filling it with good pure clean water and over time all the mud would be gone. When we allow the devil to fill our minds with his putrid, smelly disgusting ideas tainted with error and half-truths, we essentially allow him to vomit into our mind. Before long, we are filled to the brim and only we can decide to stop him and start filling our minds up with that good pure clean truth of the Word of God. What benefit is there? EVERY BENEFIT you can imagine including and deeply important, your own peace of mind.

“Be not wise in thine own eyes: fear (respect) the Lord and depart from evil. It shall be health to thy navel, and marrow to thy bones.” Proverbs 3:7-8

When you are tight with God, you can tell the difference between light and darkness and truth and error.

We are of God: he that knoweth God heareth us; he that is not of God heareth not us. Hereby know we the spirit of truth, and the spirit of error” 1 John 4:6

Has it been awhile since you picked up your Bible? How about a daily routine of study? It is never too soon to have peace in your life. It is never too late to have a victory.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

