Sweet Jesus! What Happened to You?

A purple Shiner the size of an apple core hovered under her dark brown eye. She smiled triumphantly and said, “You should see the other guy.”

My eyebrows took flight mid forehead. “What do you mean?”

“I’ve been going to self-defense classes. This is how I learned to duck.” She chuckled, “They are teaching me to stay calm, remain focused and kick serious butt.”

Finally, I smiled to. I like it when I see gals learning how to defend themself physically. It’s just smart. It could help that today’s day and age most of the television shows and movies we watch have a strong female role. Suddenly I did feel bad for the other guy. I wonder if all three parts of her body were strong like that.

What I mean is, when we get born-again of God’s spirit we now have an inner man, or in our case an inner gal. We become three parts. Body, soul and spirit. Just as the woman working out everyday and practicing on a punching bag, we need to be strong spiritually and do our work outs. All it takes is a commitment to a routine. Instead of body building, I call it believing building.

Believing Building

Anywhere you say the word “faith” in the New Testament you can replace it with the word believing. Our believing is an intrical part of our believing walk. But to build it up strong we first must commit to a daily work out. Our work-out is a “Morning Routine”.

Here’s a great place to start.

“Know ye not that they which run in a race run all, but one receiveth the prize? So run, that ye may obtain. And every man that striveth for the mastery is temperate (self-controlled) in all things. Now they do it to obtain a corruptible (physical prize) crown; but we an incorruptible (spiritual prize). I therefore so run, not as uncertainly; so fight I, not as one that beateth the air: But I keep under my body, and bring it into subjection: lest that by any means, when I have preached to others, I myself should be a castaway.” 1 Corinthians 9:24-29

 We have to first realize that yes our bodies need to be in the shape that will last us our whole lives, but also, it can’t be the only thing we strive to master. We also need to be in spiritual shape. It’s really not that hard when you commit to one little thing everyday.

Let’s start on soul food. Our soul is our mind, our personality, our likes and dislikes. Our soul can be as distempered as a dog off the leash sometimes. That is why it’s so important to feed our mind, personality, likes and dislikes the right mental food. What is the perfect nosh for these brain cells?

The Word of God

Our minds are designed to hold, read and believe the Word. It strengthens us. Helps us discern truth from error and it sheds light on all that God has already revealed about our adversary.

“Finally, my bretheren, be strong in the Lord, and in the power of his might. Put on the whole armour of God, that ye may be able to stand against the wiles of the devil.” Ephesians 6:10-11

“See then that ye walk circumspectly, not as fools, but as wise.” Ephesians 5:15

Circumspectly, means “right on with the Word of God”. We walk not with a crooked foot but with a straight foot, right on with the Word of God. How can we do that unless we make the Word part of our routine?

What we can read and know by studying the Revealed Word, or the Bible, God expects us to know. He gave us the Word for our growth and mental food. It’s our responsibility to eat, consume and digest it. That means we have to have a passion for maintaining the purity and accuracy of the Word of God.

frige of God-001

 

“Study to shew thyself approved unto God a workman that needeth not to be ashamed, rightly dividing the Word of Truth.” 2 Timothy 2:15

That’s our job.

What’s the next step?

We feed our bodies and our minds everyday, what about our spirit or our inner gal? What is our spiritual food?

“He that speaketh in an unknown tongue edifieth (builds up) himself;” 1 Corinthians 14:4a

Speaking in tongues fuels the inner gal and builds it up. The more you eat the bigger your appetite. The bigger your appetite the more energy you have. Our physical and mental bodies go through a receive, retain release process. We receive proper nutrition, digest the proper nutrition and then exert it through movement. Believing is no different. We build believing by building our inner gal’s muscular structure.

“For if I pray in an unknown tongue, my spirit prayeth, but my understanding is unfruitful.” 1 Cor. 14:14

Doesn’t it make sense that our understanding, our mind needs to pray? Yes, but here our spirit is able to pray also. Wouldn’t that just be like God to give us a way for our inner man/gal to pray and build up itself without all the doubts and worry, the psychologies or the devil’s manipulations to get in there and talk us out of it? It’s hard enough getting the believer to stand on the little scripture that they know and understand! I’m glad I can speak in tongues and my understanding, as limited as it is, doesn’t understand. I don’t need to know everything, I’m just thankful that I can do it. I can do it as much or as little as I want. Of course, the more you do it the bigger you get.

How big was Paul spiritually?

Big enough to make this comment.

“I thank my God, I speak with tongues more than ye all.” 1 Corinthians

Why would the Apostle Paul, a guy who wrought special miracles of God and ministered to all of Asia in under 2 years; a feat no one has been able to repeat since, say that???

Because he knew how much of a big deal it was to feed our inner man everyday. It builds us up. We can walk a lot easier on muscles that get used right. What about our believing muscles? They need us the same way. We must use them. What better way than doing all nine of the nine manifestations all the time?

What can you do with all those muscles? Defend yourself. My only comment to you would be this…

“You should see the other guy!”

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

