Are You Hiding Something From Everyone…Even from God?

praying girl-001Whenever there’s a crisis inside, I bottle it up and wait.

Crisis, for me, is like a shaken carbonated soda. If I open it too soon, I will explode. But if I let it simmer and rest, I can see into inside and look at the contents with out yakking them on everyone. I used to do that differently. I used to have a good emotional yak and feel better right away. But, I’ve changed.

I used to think I could hide things from God too, but all I did was break off my fellowship with Him. It’s not like He didn’t already know about my hurt. Most of the time I’m afraid God wouldn’t approve of me.

For example, let’s say I get really upset at my hubby because he cut me off to answer the phone and then never let me finish my thought. So then, I feel bad because I don’t want him to know I was mad at him over something so silly or get in a fight. So I hide it. That whole day, I’m a little more introspective, quiet and moody with him. By dinner, he thinks I don’t love him anymore and has assumed divorce papers will be sliding across the table at him. This is extreme, but doesn’t it sound like the whole thing would’ve been avoided had I just talked to him right away.

With God, it’s no different.

Except with God, I assume He wouldn’t approve a lot sooner. When really, the sooner I ask Him about it, or ask Him for help on any subject the sooner the  crisis, big or small, is averted.

“Be careful (anxious) for nothing; but in every thing by prayer and supplication with thanksgiving let your requests be made known unto God, and the peace of God which passeth all understanding, shall keep your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” Philippians 4:6-7

One of the hardest, yet most beneficial things we can do, is put our attitude and pride away when it comes to  communication with God. YES, people out there have agendas, and manipulate us for their own use, but God never does. He only wants what is best for us in every situation. There is never an agenda. He is pure love. Understanding the depth of that love is a giant maturity leap in our walk. He never runs out of patience for us and He always wants to fellowship with us. But we have to be honest and get everything out of the way of that fellowship. It starts out slow, but soon, as we are more ready, we pull back the layers between us and let Him in.

“Thou wilt keep him in perfect peace whose mind is stayed on thee; because he trusteth in thee.” Isaiah 26:3

Perfect peace sounds too good to be true.

But that word “perfect” means “mature” peace. It means we have talked it over and come to a mature understanding. We’ve grown up enough not to lash out. God is a big boy He can handle you lashing out at Him, but at least lash out in honesty. There is no new problem under the sun. When crap happens, run first to big Daddy. Let Him straighten your understanding of the situation or at least take it off your shoulders. God eats problems like ours for breakfast! And there is nothing He wouldn’t nor hasn’t already done to help you have peace. They say something is only worth what someone is willing to pay…how much did God pay for you? You are worth it! I am worth it. He made that choice knowing you’d believe.

“Behold, I am the Lord the God of all flesh, is there anything too hard for me?” Jeremiah 32:27

Give Him a chance.

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

