How Do We find Joy in Work?

calendar-001

Joy, for me, is a moment by moment discovery of how much more I can count on God over my own abilities and tendencies. God comes through for us all the time. Do we ever notice or give Him the credit? I don’t do it enough. He helps me when I don’t know what to say. He blesses me when I don’t deserve it. He opens doors, shuts them, and introduces people who teach me. I am thankful when He takes away those who will harm me. He knows me better than I know myself and when I’m afraid or timid, He puts incentives out there to challenge me. He cares, when others don’t. He is faithful to me. I wish I could be that faithful to Him.

“Know therefore that the LORD thy God, he is God, the faithful God, which keepeth covenant and mercy with them that love him and keep his commandments to a thousand generations;” Deuteronomy 7:9

 Commandments sounds ominous doesn’t it.

That word makes me think of Indiana and the Raiders of the Lost Ark movie. But commandments are just jobs. Little or big, they are given to us in a very specific manner and they are not hard to do.

“For this is the love of God, that we keep his commandments: and his commandments are not grievous.” 1 John 5:3

 “Grievous” is the Greek word, “barys” and means “hard to do”. God’s commandments are not hard to do. Which means they will be well within your scope of understanding, skill and time restraints. God isn’t going to ask you to scale a mountain before breakfast, if you’ve never been hiking before. ON the other hand, if you’re a ski instructor, you may be asked to do it twice. LOL…

When we are faithful in the little things, God comes through with the big.

“He that is faithful in that which is least is faithful also in much: and he that is unjust in the least is unjust also in much.” Luke 16:10

 IF you are faithful to God in the little things, the things that don’t seem to matter in the overall scheme of things, you’ll begin seeing the power of doing.

I heard from a friend once that “the more work you have to do, the more disciplined you have to be to get the desired work done.”  When God gives you few little jobs, rearrange your day, attitude and priorities to get those things done. You’ll be astonished at the results. We’ll find the real joy that comes from accomplishing and doing a good work!

What is something God asks us to do all the time that we can be faithful in?

“In every thing give thanks: for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus concerning you.” 1 Thessalonians 5:18

Give thanks! Ha. That is easy! And it’s a great start.

I’d like to start with thanking you. I care for you and pray for you everyday. I don’t know all of you, but I pray to God to bless you for the commitment you’ve made to read this little blog.

God bless you today!

 

Leave a Reply

