003: I Just Want to Have Fun

Have you ever been with someone who just wants to have fun?

Welcome to an inspiring “I”! Woohoo!

This week, as you know, we are facing off with all the DISC personality profiles. Each one gets a dedicated blog posts and if you’re just catching up, today is the day for “I”. Check out this link for the first post.

There are few other personalities who are more exciting, inspiring and friendly. These are the outgoing, the people-people and the ones always excited to see you.

Depending on the situation, I’s can be the most funny, truly comedic, people and the most creative of the four styles.

They are also fast thinkers. Random things pop in and out of their head very quickly because they are always looking for the next funny and next fun thing to do. It can create some downsides. Just as the D personality can be pushy and or opinionated, an Inspiring I can interrupt their own thoughts with other thoughts when then get excited. Kind of like on the Pixar Movie “UP” when the dog is talking about something wonderful, but sees a squirrel.

I also saw this morning, from one of God’s Supporting Godly Women gals. She posted it on her Facebook page and gave me a chuckle, because she tested as an I.
interupt sign

 

 

I’s also crave recognition. It doesn’t have to be good recognition either. Have you ever heard of a class clown? They also might run from one assignment to the next very quickly without finishing. I’s are amazing, profound people with the biggest hearts of any of us, maybe except for S’s. This group can be tender, loving, fun and eager. They keep us grounded with their humanity and send us soaring with their hearts. Who in the Bible does this remind you of?

You may find this odd, but again, they remind me of the Apostle Paul. 

Look at this record below. (Don’t worry I’s I’ll keep this fun and short.;)

“…charging the jailor to keep them safely: Who, having received such a charge, thrust them into the inner prison, and made their feet fast in the stocks. And at midnight Paul and Silas prayed, and sang praises unto God: and the prisoners heard them” Acts 16:23b-25

Paul and Silas were in stocks – feet cuffs, and chained to a wall behind bars in a prison. What could be fun about that? Paul and Silas started their own little party! Ha! This is so I. I’s are the ones who point out the positive. Yes, I also believe they were asked to sing by God, but they sang their hearts out! SO much so their was an earthquake and the prison doors fell open and their feet cuffs were loosed.

Now that’s a party I’s!

Is it okay to have fun for God? Absolutely! Most children, born again children especially, gravitate to the one having the most fun. Can you minister to people through fun? Personally I don’t think you should try to minister to people without it. Life gets serious too soon.

Lighten up! Have a little fun!

Think about this verse.

“And be ye kind one to another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.” Ephesians 4:32

This verse comes easy for I’s. One reason is: they don’t remember why they were mad in the first place so they don’t hold a grudge, but on the other side, tender-heartedness is just so much more fun. The other personality styles could take a chapter from the I’s book on this one.

But there is a downside to being and inspiring socialite. They like to talk to other people and help others with their problems. They absolutely hate secrets. This could lead to gossip. Gossip is a nasty little neurotoxin for your spiritual walk. If you are an I; beware, gossip deadens your conscience and steals all your fun.

Because you tend to forget who you spoke to and why, you can also forget who you told. Learn how to accept that keeping and NOT knowing everyone’s secrets is a part of life. God knows it all, leave that job to Him.

I personality sign

I’s keep your zest, love and fun. We wouldn’t know what to do without you…but then you knew that right? 🙂

God bless you today!

 

To Catch Up on this Series Click the links below:

001: Does Your Personality Change How You See God?

002: Pushy, Opinionated People and God

 

One thought on “003: I Just Want to Have Fun”

Leave a Reply

