4 Years Ago Today…

Wow, Today, February 16th, is the anniversary of my fourth year of blogging at Supporting Godly Women. The time has flown by! Today will also be my 790th published post. This is all great, but there is one thing I wish I could’ve done for you.

I wish I could give you more scope. Unfortunately, I can’t do that for you because you have to do it for yourself, but… you have done that for me. What is scope?

Scope is the expanse of understanding earned from years of working the Word of God. Scope is when you’re talking about one verse and two more from a different part of the Bible come to mind. It comes with age. Some people complain about age, like it’s as liability, but age isn’t a liability. It’s a provider of time to give you scope and understanding. In ten years you will be able to do some things in fifteen minutes that take you four hours to do now. That’s scope.

Think about all the things that are hard to do now, maybe renewing your mind, praying for miracles, believing God for answers to prayer. These things will get easier in time. I remember, 20 years ago when I was just being taught the rightly-divided Word of God. I sat in shock (and relief) most of the time. But– anytime I tried to hear God’s voice I failed miserably. I thought I was a “faulty” Christian. My mentors and teachers told me I would eventually be able to hear God’s voice all the time. I clung to that and accepted that even though I had been born again since age five and brought up in religion, I still needed to learn to hear God’s voice. I needed the practical application of God’s Word. I am still working on learning the nine manifestations of the gift of holy spirit. It might take a life time. Am I willing to hold out that long? You bet! Because there are treats and blessings from God all along the way. And every time I try, I get a little better and a little stronger.

Sometimes I feel like the Karate Kid in the first movie. (Please pardon the language at first.)

When we go to God for explanations and we do not get them right away, we get frustrated, angry we want to quit. But then when the Devil comes at us full bore we know how to defend ourselves with that Word of God. Just don’t let yourself get out of fellowship with God over it. IF you do get out and run from God, come back! He loves you and He wants you to be a trained up spiritual competitor.

How do you get back in fellowship with God even if you can’t hear Him real well?

“If we confess our sins (harmatia, which means broken fellowship or missing the mark), He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.” 1 John 1:9

Have you starved? Have you gone without shelter? Has your basic needs gone unmet? Maybe the credit card bills are a little late to go in the mail, maybe you lost your job. God still promises to supply all your need. He still wants to take care of you in this jungle of a messed up world. God wants you to be a confident competitor not a weakling that gets their butt kicked every time the devil says “Boo.” It’s time to start committing to the process. Yes, it will take time! It takes years to become a master at anything. But if you quit when you’re half way to your goal, where does that leave you?

And wisdom is from the Lord not necessarily from age. We grow spiritually because we do the five basics and pursue God not because we get older.

We are on His curriculum schedule for training, He is not on ours.

I’ll leave you with this poem called,

“Don’t Quit”

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,

When the road your trudging seems all uphill,

When the funds are low and the debts are high,

And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,

When care is pressing you down a bit,

Rest, if you must–but don’t you quit.

Life is queer with its twists and turns,

As everyone of us sometimes learns,

And many a failure turns about

When he might have won had he stuck it out;

Don’t give up, though the pace seems slow—

You might succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than

It seems to a faint and faltering man.

Often the struggler has given up

When he might have captured the victor’s cup.

And he learned too late, when the night slipped down,

How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out–

The silver tint of the clouds of doubt–

And you never can tell how close you are,

It may be near when it seems afar;

So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit–

It’s when things seem worst that you mustn’t quit.

–Author Unknown

 God Bless You Today!

Leave a Reply

