Making Life Easier with One Hard Step

I’ve heard it said many times that rewards in the spiritual are linked to rewards in the physical. And the biggest cohesive substance linking them is faithful stewardship. Of course, whenever I heard that, I would nod and agree because somehow it made sense. I didn’t know by experience how it made sense, but something in me said,

“Yep, that’s just got to be true.”

“Moreover it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful.” 1 Corinthians 4:2

Then, I got a huge dose of reality. So far, I’ve coasted along through life, in a slumber, letting it hit me whenever and where ever it would. I never, except in a few rare emotional cases, grabbed hold of my time, my health or my finances and said, that’s it, we are making changes for the better.

Some of you know, my beloved grandma passed away in February. Since then, several more members of our family, young and old, have passed away in a senseless and maddening spree of death. I was closest to my grandma, but the blow after blow of family members dying really took the wind out of me. I clung to God. When I say clung, it was with desperate nails clawing into the side of a cavernous wall of despair plummeting below me. I screamed, cried and I hurt. I know someone out there reading this, has been there.

Little by little, I’ve been able to slowly pull back up and out of that cavern. But, then I sat on the edge staring blankly at it for a long time. A few people would come and sit there with me. Mostly, I sat alone. Except– I wasn’t alone. God was still there. He didn’t force me to get up. He didn’t condemn me. He was just there. Waiting for when I was ready to talk.

“Yea, though I walk through the valley of the shadow of death, I will fear no evil: for thou art with me; thy rod and thy staff they comfort me.” Psalms 23:4

Then a thought occurred to me.

“It’s time to start over. It’s time to really live the abundant life.”

“The thief cometh not, but for to steal, and to kill, and to destroy: I am come that they might have life, and that they might have it more abundantly.” John 10:10

Can you imagine my, still very personal shock, at this statement? But look, my life had proved as many people, that the thief does steal, kill and destroy. That was easy to see. If I could believe the negative, then why not the positive?

I suddenly realized that yes, they are gone, but I still live.

Life is a gift. It really is.

I could either coast along and let the wind toss me where it would, or I could take the helm, and steer myself into a life I only dreamed of having. As I looked around, I blinked back the foggy tears and took in the state of things around me. It was a like the Titanic, or some large wounded vessel. I needed to make a choice to fix things or drowned slowly.

Yesterday was one of the hardest battles I’ve ever faced. To put it metaphorically it was a three headed, fire-breathing dragon that I’d raised as a baby but now it was hungry and I was on the menu. The dragon’s name was “The Budget.” Uh-huh-huh…. If I didn’t tame this beast, I’d never taste the abundant life just beyond it’s reach. I’m not proud of the slobbering tears, or blubbering fear of failure. But I can tell you, today, one of those heads is chained down and the other two aren’t going anywhere. I had a victory! I was exhausted last night. I could barely talk or do anything. For some a budget is natural and easy. For me, it has been one of my worst and most avoided fears. I’m always telling you to kick fear out of your life. It doesn’t pay any rent.

We attacked our budget, but how about you? I can’t tell you how much easier our life will be. But you can’t do it alone and you can’t do it without a plan. It takes deliberate effort. It takes facing your three-headed dragon. But it means a more abundant life. What does that look like for you?

Dave ramsey pics

For us, it means changing things forever.

“Moreover it is required in stewards, that a man be found faithful.” 1 Corinthians 4:2

dave ramsey pics 1

This is just one way that God can pull you from the depth of despair to life, but it takes little baby steps and being willing to change. I know I can do it. I didn’t yesterday, but now I know. It will just keep getting better and better and better. Now I’m the captain of my own ship, and we’re blazing a new trail.

Come with me!

God bless you today!

Leave a Reply

