Seasons Change, But Is Change Always for the Better?

Have you ever noticed that change sucks?

(I feel a rant coming on.) Sometimes there are cold fronts in relationships and changes in people around me and I don’t like it. They start avoiding me for no obvious reason and I get down. But, I can also relate. Oh yes, I fall victim too. Hey, I’m just being real with you. But…

Last night, I realized how those changes start and I caught it before the winds of change blew too strong in a situation and changed my heart and the relationship. Here’s what happened.

I started moaning and groaning about my “treatment”.

I felt, unappreciated. I felt like I had to go to all this trouble to fix dinner, and nobody acknowledged or realize it. The more I thought about it, the more I became upset.

pizza dinner-001

How many times in our life do we feel unappreciated? Do you feel that way too? Unnoticed? No one validates how you feel? Yep, that was me.

All I wanted was a, “Thank you”, or a, “Wow, you must have gone to a lot of trouble to do this great thing and I appreciate it.”

Then, I decided, mid-pity party, that I was way outside my normal M.O. My normal M.O. (mode of operation) was thankfulness for the hungry people in front of me. Or those that teach me new things and care about my life. Or, for those who are relieved and thankful for me too. Ha! That’s my normal M.O. The change was the complaining and the grumbling.

So, I prayed like this. “God, I feel totally sorry for myself right now, but I also don’t like it that no one understands how hard it is to cook for picky eaters. Food I work hard to put together, gets a slight wrinkled nose. Not, a ‘Wow I love this’.  I don’t like that God. But, I also don’t want to change my attitude towards them, because I love them. I love them a lot. Can you help me? Can you make me better, and make this situation better.” I said this prayer out loud and with all the emotion of a pissed off Mama. (Hey, just bein’ real with you.)

Suddenly, my heart calmed down.

I had prayed before deciding what to make, so I looked around my kitchen, through my “fix-only” options for dinner, and started throwing things together. It was a weird new dish, I’d never made before. When they sat down, there were raised eyebrows and silence. Like, “we have to eat that?”, was running through their minds.

My husband started dishing everyone up. Their smiles melted and they groaned, but in delight, not in disgust like I thought. My son, who  doesn’t like cheese, tasted the meaty middle and gave a surprised grunt and then sighed. I couldn’t believe it.

They gobbled it up like I served their favorite pizza.

They loved it! Then the compliments followed. They wanted to know how I came up with it and where I got the idea. They had two helpings, even my son! I am still shaking my head. Then it hit me, if I would have let that bad thought continue to prey on my attitude, I would have missed all that wonderful joy and satisfaction I gained later.

There’s the old saying, “You can’t help it when a bird poops on your head, but you can sure keep it from building a nest there.”

It’s about the renewed mind. The devil will always throw discouraging thoughts at our mind, but we can decide if we should dwell on them or not. He loves to make us think we are the victim of some unfair situation. But, and let’s be honest, how many times have we bled on a cross and died for some ungrateful sinners? Never!

When I think about that, it gets me real thankful, real fast. You and I live in the one of the best times in history, not to mention the most filled with opportunity. Are we going to focus on the positive or the negative? Don’t let the devil trick you out of the relationships, joy, abundance or prosperity in your thought life. Take control back. It’s your mind. You can think what ever you choose.

“29 Let no corrupt communication proceed out of your mouth, but that which is good to the use of edifying, that it may minister grace unto the hearers. 30 And grieve not the holy Spirit of God, whereby ye are sealed unto the day of redemption. 31 Let all bitterness, and wrath, and anger, and clamour, and evil speaking, be put away from you, with all malice: 32 and be ye kind one to another, tender-hearted, forgiving one another, even as God for Christ’s sake hath forgiven you.” Ephesians 4:29-32

God bless you today!

 

Leave a Reply

